Incoming: Casual Magic

Hey Folks,

Much like Imaginary Wars has developed from an idea into a store over the past year, Kyle’s personal blog has begun its evolution into a staging ground for not only his ramblings and ideas, but for those of the entire Imaginary Wars crew. As such, you’re going to start noticing a few guest postings popping up on the blog over the next few weeks and months.

My name is Scott, and many of you know me from my presence in the gaming community or, alternatively, as the face at Imaginary Wars that ISN’T Kyle. My gaming history began with board games while working with Kyle at Great White, and has grown to encompass miniature wargaming as well as collectable card games.

While you’ll see the occasional wargaming article from me, my focus is largely going to be on the collectable card game side of things. I’ll be posting a series of articles collectively and tentatively titled ‘Casual Magic’ on Mondays to the Imaginary Wars blog dealing with the collectable card game Magic: The Gathering. Magic has become a focus of mine in the past few months as I’ve sought to feed my gaming addiction with a casual pastime that fits more comfortably with my school schedule, and I feel the game has a lot to offer all kinds of gamers.

I’ll be posting articles reflecting my thoughts and experiences with MtG in all its varying formats with a focus on the casual side of the game. The tournament scene has already been addressed in depth in a number of different media and I am certainly no authority on MtG’s enormous legacy, so my articles will mostly address what I think is cool, fun and interesting in the less hardcore (though often no less competitive) side of the hobby.

Stay tuned!

–          Scott

Leave a Reply

